Healthy living

One thing my husband and I always take time for is fitness. If you want to live a long and healthy life traveling in your home on wheels, you have to make time for healthy eating and exercise. I know, I know, people are always harping on diet and exercise, but I am not going to do that. All I’m going to do is just tell everyone how we do it. You will be stronger, feel more alive and you can theoretically decrease the money you spend on going to the doctor for health related issues that could be avoided by making good food choices and getting outside for a little exercise.

My husband and I love to run, bike and hike. We don’t like to run on treadmills, BORING! We make sure to run 4 or 5 times a week. from 3 to 4 miles at a time. We have run 5 half marathons, some 5Ks and a 10K. I have done 3 triathlons, but only the running and biking. I am not a swimmer! I’m the one out there gurgling and sinking in the water. But if you’re not a runner there is hiking, going for a walk and riding your bike.

I also like to do weights to keep tone. I thought that was going to be impossible when we moved into our trailer. But it’s not! I found some adjustable weights at Wal Mart, of course Wal Mart has everything!! They adjust from 5 to 25 lbs that way you can increase your weight as you get stronger without having all these dumbbells stuffed into every corner of your RV. I also have a roll up workout mat that tucks neatly into a drawer.

IMG_2910

IMG_2912

Hand weights stored easily in a lower cabinet.

Hand weights stored easily in a lower cabinet.

Now on the subject of eating healthy, I am not at all an organic health freak. We eat lean meats like 96/4 or 93/7 hamburger meat, skinless boneless chicken, fish, turkey sausage and center cut bacon. We make sure we get our veggies and fruit in everyday. We buy fresh and frozen vegetables, they have a fresher taste than canned veggies. For breakfast we usually will eat oatmeal with dried or fresh fruit added and toast. We also like egg whites and wheat pancakes. At least once a week we have a “grand slam” breakfast of over easy eggs, with fresh potato hash browns, turkey sausage or center cut bacon and toast. We love our grand slam breakfasts! I make sure I have dessert every evening, oh yeah!! I have a recipe for banana bread and I add dark chocolate chips. So good! Dark chocolate candy bars are very good too! Oh and sugar-free pudding mixed with either 1% or skim milk will quench a sweet tooth.

We can’t be good everyday though, that is impossible, for us anyway. So Friday night, which we lovingly call fat Friday, is our “cheat night”. Then, we will eat what we have  been craving. For example; cheeseburgers, chicken strips, Mexican food and so on. My favorite part of fat Friday is the desert!! I’ll eat the sweets I have been craving like ice cream, cake, brownies, etc.

My husband and I count our calories everyday except for our Friday night splurges. There are different apps out there to help you keep track of your calories. The one we use is Myfitnesspal.com. It will help guide you through getting set up on how many lbs you want to lose or if you want to maintain your weight, and suggest how many calories a day you should eat. It has a database of foods and you can enter exercises and it will tell you how many calories you have burned. You can also add your own exercise and put in how many calories you have burned if you wear a heart rate monitors, like I do. You should check out the site! We have been using it for about 4 years. Hope this inspires you to live a more healthy and happy life!

Sharon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

