Fun, Fitness, and Getting Things Done

Sharon's photo of the day

Sharon’s photo of the day

We celebrated last night with a movie and a bottle of wine at home. We’ve now completed residing and painting my parents house. It was a pretty big job for a husband and wife team but we completed it in about 2 months. That includes stripping away the old siding too.

In continuing the celebration, we decided not to work on the front porch columns today. We’ll start putting stone veneer on the bottom half and siding on the top half of the columns on Monday. Instead, we decided to take a 15 mile bike ride late this morning after a relaxing breakfast and an extra cup of coffee. It was the same ole route we always take. If you’ve followed this blog very long, you know we’re in oil field country in west Texas right now, and the places we can run and ride are limited if we don’t want to deal with the traffic that goes along with an oil “boom”. Anyway, our days here sitting stationary are limited. We’ll be headed out to New Mexico and into the cool mountains in less than 3 weeks. We can’t wait to get to cooler weather, new places to hike and explore. Well, there not all new. Some are just old favorites.

On the novel-writing front, I’ve accomplished nothing more on the new novel that I’m about 3 chapters into now after nearly a year. That’s ok, it took me several years to finish Indian Paintbrush. As I’ve stated before, I’m don’t really have a clue about how to market a novel, which I’ve heard can be as tough as writing one. I sent out a couple of complimentary paperback copies to 2 privately owned small bookstores that carry local and self-published authors along with a short note inviting them to read my novel. I realize I’m not going to sell a great # of copies this way even if they like it and allow me to sell my books in their stores. Good thing I’m not looking to get rich! I do hope to hear back from them and maybe schedule a book signing event though. Increasing my exposure a little at a time will help with future sales. It’s a long road I know. But, what else do I have to do really? We live a low-cost, low stress, gypsy type lifestyle where time goes by very quickly it seems. I was thinking about that the other day and wondering why time seems to fly by now much of the time. I think maybe it’s because we’re so happy and relaxed living this way. Who would’ve thought living a life where you don’t know where your next paycheck will come from, or when it might come, could be so relaxing and peaceful.

I don’t mean to imply that it’s all great all the time. We contend with worries just like everyone else. Our refrigerator stopped cooling the other day and if you’re familiar with rv refrigerators, you know they’re way different from regular compressor equipped household units. By process of elimination and much research, I determined it was the gas absorption cooling unit, even though it didn’t seem to be leaking.  I ordered a brand new one and Sharon and I installed it ourselves carefully following the directions that came with the new cooling unit. Almost $600 later and much frustration, though better than before, it’s still not cooling as it should be. Something like this pops up every now and then. Sometimes many things at once.  But I guess that’s to be expected for a house that rolls and bounces down the highway at 60 mph.

Back to the writing thing. We’ve decided to set goals for ourselves regarding our current writing and photography endeavors. Sharon’s goal will be to post at least one photo here on our blog everyday (at least everyday that we have internet access). Many of these photos will provide a glimpse into our daily life. Some of her photographs can be viewed here. My goal will be to write at least 300-500 words a day on my current novel and all the ones I write after that. Even though sometimes it takes a bit of time, and I don’t always know what I’m going to write, I find if I just sit down and start writing, my thoughts begin flowing pretty easily. It’s easy to get lazy some days when you’re always on your own schedule.

Thanks again to all those who care to follow us along our travels and life’s journey.

Brian

One thought on “Fun, Fitness, and Getting Things Done

  1. Hi Brian and sharon
    Thanks for following. I’m a happy camper now you are joining me as I trip around by RV, plane, car and time machine to the past.
    Comments, compliments, critiques and wisecracks are most welcome.
    Good luck with the writing. “See” you again soon.
    Which Way Now 101 aka Carol

Leave a Reply

